Spin * Spin * Spin *

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ok, I’ve been bitten by the hand spinning bug really badly lately.  I’ve done more in the last week or so than I have in the rest of the time I’ve spent spinning (just under one year).  I also think that I’m good enough at lace weight yarns that I might be able to sell them.  I’ve listed a few on my Esty site (link to it on the right).  I’ve got another “art yarn” in acidic yellow and green that I spun in red, orange, gray, and yellow beads that will be listed soon (called Pretty Poison).  I think I like working with the “art yarns” a lot but the light weight yarns are better for weaving.  Soon will come a round of scarves for Christmas sales but not with the hand spun yarn because there is zero profit in them (love doing them but no profit).  I hope you will take a look and tell me what you think as well if they are priced right for hand made items….that seems to be the problem lately as I’m not sure what to price the yarn for.

In any case I’m sure the burst of creativity is due to the start of the school year and that my daughter, who has been home all summer, will not be demanding so much of my attention.  I love her more than I can say and I had a blast making her come historic court clothing (German c 1490 and Italian c1490) but I’m so happy she is going back to school too.  I’m also sure that because all the summer vacations (North Carolina to see family, Vermont to see family, and Pennsic of course) are all done.  In parts they felt more like work than art does.

I’ll write more about my daughter’s court wear in a future post-say after school starts! :)

This entry was posted in Fine Arts, hand weaving, Textiles, Uncategorized, yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spin * Spin * Spin *

  1. Heather G says:

    Looking good! Afraid I can’t help with pricing though; no good at that part myself.

Leave a Reply

