Stalking Ebay for a tsujighana kimono

So I occasionally buy examples of textiles off of ebay for my class. I find that hands on examples go a long way to explaining things.  So I was looking for a few kimonos that illustrate shibori (tie-dyeing), embroidery (both silk and gold thread), ikat, and/or sashiko.  I did not expect of find an example of tsujigahana.  What is tsujigahana, you ask?  It is a term used to describe a combination of techniques used to decorate kimonos.  It must have shibori and one or more of the following techniques: embroidery, sumi ink painting, gold leaf.  It was used primarily in the Muromachi Period (1333-1573) in Japan but it was revived by a Japanese artist, Itchiku Kubota.  With time he mastered all of these techniques and became a Living Treasures of Japan.  Without exception his works are some of my favorites.  Now this kimono on ebay, that I found, is not his work (don’t I wish!) nor is it a masterpiece of tsujigahana (it only used shibori plus sumi ink) but it is quiet lovely in its design (refined) and in great shape.  So now I’m stalking it and wondering if it’s worth buying.

Kimonos by Itchiku Kubota.  If you like them there are several books on his work.  The two lower closeups (bottom row-middle and right) are from other kimonos, artists unknown.

Edit: March 18th

It is indeed past my price range.  So I hope that I goes to a loving home.  I will find other examples for my students or perhaps this is the Universe’s way of telling me to make my own sample.  That will be a project for this summer.  I’ll have to post about that later.

This entry was posted in kimonos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

