Medieval Madness and a Courtly Image (Part 2)

So I have now ordered wool for this gown and found an image for inspiration.  What do you think of this?  I like the white gown on the left.  It is likely that my gown will be nice dark teal wool with a red silk under-gown.  The top one shall be powdered with the plates from the last post and pearls.  Perhaps another semi-precious stone too.

I might decide to hand sew these and so a long of time for each part would be in order.  It is one of the most frequent questions I am asked (“how long does it take to make that?”) and it would be nice to be able to answer it for once.

I’m going to have to wait to cut and sew the gown until after May 15th as I said before but I’m planning now.  It keeps me amused mostly.  🙂

I believe this image is from: Cecco d’Ascoli: L’Acerba; Physionomia. Laurenziana Library, Florence. MS Plut. 40152

This entry was posted in Medieval and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

