The Joys of Sunshine and Hand Sewing

Yes, I’m waxing poetical about hand sewing. Considering it’s been what feels like years (but really only one year) since I made anything at all, hand sewing feels wonderful.  My carpel tunnel and tendentious did not even bother me.  I also choose to finish an incomplete project and get it done, so I’m feeling very satisfied.  I finished a nice dark blue sideless surcote with a gold shot silk lining.  It was not suppose to be sideless but the sleeves I made were too small for the arm hole and I am out of the fabrics.  So now it’s an early medieval over gown. It will be nice on early event mornings when you have to get up to start the fire.

The weather was perfect for sitting with wool and silk and sewing for an hour or two.  All in all a very nice day.  And of course, now my hands want more work to do while I still need to be doing research.  I don’t know about you but it seems like sometimes my brain is going in two directions: one for hand work and one for research.  The research is going to win because until mid May it has too.  I think I may try to work on a little embroidery from time to time just to keep me sane and to finish off some unfinished projects.

Good luck to all of you with your projects.

This entry was posted in Living History, Medieval and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

