Mischief Managed

This past weekend I went to the Fingerlakes Fiber Arts Festival with Muirenn and two other friends.  We did our best to keep each other out of too much trouble.  I’m not sure we succeeded though.  In addition to a small pile of fleece of different types (silk/wool blends, camel and wools) I bought one of the nicest spindles I’ve seen.  It’s a supported spindle made of beautiful pottery.  And it’s not just pretty, it works so well: it spins forever.   I’ve started a merino wool/silk blend on it.  And it’s hard to put down.

The ladies talked me out of buying (because I asked them to) an 8 harness 32” table top loom for a really great price.  I was so tempted to buy it but Sean asked when I would have time to work with it and where would I set it up?  Since I could not answer either of those questions I really could not buy one, but I do have project in mind for a small loom when I do get one.  The fleece and the cool spindle will have to make up for the application of common sense.

I’ve also made a lot of progress on my daughter’s gown.  The fitting has been done and the alterations made.  I’ve sewn the body and whipped down all the seams.  The main lining has been cut and is now being sewn.  Then I’ll bag line it at the neck and work on the sleeves and the eyelets.  It’s getting there slowly and I’m trying really hard not to be distracted by spinning.  Trying really hard because I can fit the spindle in my purse when I can’t fit the gown.

This entry was posted in Living History, Medieval, Textiles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mischief Managed

  1. Muirenn says:

    Seriously, I can’t believe I talked you out of that loom.. I felt like a traitor to everything I believe in.. hehe.. And I need to ping the lady at Steam Valley and see if ANY of the turnips she has on her website are actually available, because there is a dark blue one that is GORGEOUS… *grin* Screw fabric, one can never have too many spindles. 😀

  2. The spindle was made by Ann Grout and is available (when in stock) from Steam Valley Fiber Farm. They seem to be collectible too so I’m feeling quite lucky to have gotten one. So to Muirenn who saved it for me and the lovely lady who gave it up in favor of the acorn model thanks!

Leave a Reply

