A completely shameless plug-my mom’s art

For as long as I can remember my mom, Sally Loughridge, has been painting.  For years it was just for fun, then small galleries and then solo shows.  Now that she is retired she is working full time at her art.  I can’t tell you how proud of her I am.  And yes I am biased but I don’t care.  I’m supposed to be.  It’s hard to support her when she lives so far away.  I keep hoping she will have shows a little farther south so I could go and support her.

Mom has art in a group show right now in Rockland, Maine: Archipelago Fine Arts Gallery-Monhegan Perspectives III.  This is the art that results from the annual ladies trip to Monhegan Island.  She also has a lovely giclee (Sea Gold on Lobster Cove) at the same gallery but that one and the one above (called Marsh Notes) are also available here.  More of her work can be seen here or here (personal online site).  I’m really rather fond of Bittersweet and Bright too but its been sold for years now.

The thing is, even if she were not my mom, I’d be willing to buy some of her art.  I’m not just saying that, I actually mean it.  There is a real depth to the landscapes.  If I had not grown up in New England and seen Vermont, Maine and other places like Block Island, I might not believe that these scenes were real.  But there is more found in nature than the human mind can imagine and all that.  Somehow mom finds a way to paint them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Fine Arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A completely shameless plug-my mom’s art

  1. Tig says:

    Wow! You *should* be proud! My mum painted too but it was rare that I actually ever liked anything. Sally is very talented and has quite an eye for it.

Leave a Reply

